Black Is Fish'O'Mania XXV Champion
July 14th, 2018

Black Is Fish'O'Mania XXV Champion

PETE BLACK, 21, became the youngest ever winner of the Fish’O’Mania title as celebrated the event’s return to Hayfield Lakes with a commanding performance, winning with a total of 51.35kg, over 12 kilos ahead of his nearest rival.

Hailing from King’s Norton, Black works at Foster’s, a Birmingham tackle shop and he will be sure to receive a hero’s welcome when he returns to work on Monday. Fourth after the first weigh in, Black stormed into the lead in the second 30 mins with a big bag and it was a position he maintained throughout the match. He was challenged at times but kept the fish flowing sufficiently to land the £50,000 prize.

He said, “You have to be confident when you’re fishing for a mega amount of money, you can’t sit down on your peg and think, oh I’ve drawn next to so and so and they will beat me.

“It is a dream to win Fish‘O’Mania. I have been putting in a lot of hard work in the last few weeks and it has paid off. Mid-match I lost my way a bit – I went on the waggler and only really caught a few.

“I said to Adam (his bank runner), if I’m going to win this I am going to carry on catch on the pole and I stayed on that then for the rest of the match.

“You have to keep your head, it’s a fishing match at the end of the day. Everybody here is good enough to win so you have to just enjoy the day.

“I will enjoy quite a bit of the money and probably look at buying a house.”

In front of a huge crowd, estimated to be around 6,000, second place and a cheque for £10,000 went to Andy Power, repeating his feat of 2017.

Peter Black 7 51.350
Andy Power 22 39.225
Steve Ford 6 36.925
Scott Gollings 10 31.150
Steve Openshaw 5 28.750
Dave Shires 24 24.100
Jason Brown 19 20.675
Oliver Scotthorne 8 17.725
Ryan Lidgard 23 16.825
Richie Hull 9 15.225
Jamie Hughes 21 14.400
Adam Major 14 13.925
Kristof de Busser 15 13.875
Shaun Cooke 4 13.300
Adam Richards 18 12.200
Markus Billen 2 10.800
Russell Berryman 17 10.400
Dave Romain 1 8.400
Andrew Dargue 11 8.050
Andrew Bailey 3 7.650
Dale Whelan 20 6.425
Nathan Watson 12 5.850
Dan Squire 16 2.975
Franek Staniuszko 13 1.025